Rocca Not Reappointed to Loudoun Water Board

Loudoun County supervisors have voted on their choices among the 11 nominees for the three at-large vacancies on the Loudoun Water board of directors.

The board returned Leonard “Hobie” Mitchel and John Whitmore to the utility’s board, and added former Board of Supervisors appointee Jim Bonfils, who was nominated by Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau (R-Dulles). Incumbent Loudoun Water Chairman Johnny Rocca, although nominated by Supervisor Kristen Umstattd (D-Leesburg), received only one vote and was not reappointed.

Mitchel is the president and CEO of Lansdowne Development Group. Whitmore owns and operates Farmer John’s Wayside Vegetable Market near Lucketts. Bonfils is the senior regional sales manager at SanDisk in Ashburn and just wrapped up a partial term on the Board of Supervisors representing the Broad Run District.

Others nominated to serve on the Loudoun Water board were:

Gladys Burke (Leesburg) –nominated by Umstattd

John Fuog (Blue Ridge) –nominated by Buffington

Robert Greene (Ashburn) –nominated by Randall

Michael Lo Presti (Algonkian) –nominated by Saines

Ed Smariga (Ashburn) –nominated by Buona

Ralph Watson (Broad Run) –nominated by Meyer

Monte Johnson (Blue Ridge) –nominated by Randall