School Associations Host Joint Town Hall

School and county leaders will take questions on just about anything related to Loudoun’s public schools during a joint town hall Wednesday, Feb. 3.

The town hall, called “Let’s Get Together,” will begin at 7 p.m. at the school administration building, 21000 Education Court in Ashburn. It is hosted by three parent-led committees: Special Education Advisory Committee, Minority Student Achievement Advisory Committee and Loudoun Education Alliance of Parents.

The joint town hall will give members of Loudoun’s Board of Supervisors and School Board an opportunity to respond to questions from the community and hear feedback on issues raised. The public’s participation is encouraged. People can submit their questions in person on provided index cards or via Twitter using the hashtag #LoudounTownHall or by tweeting at @LEAP4edu.

Loudoun Now Managing Editor Danielle Nadler, the event’s facilitator, will direct questions to a specific panelist or to the group in general.

Confirmed panelists include: county Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D-At Large) and Supervisors Suzanne M. Volpe (R-Algonkian), Ron A. Meyer Jr. (R-Broad Run) and Kristen C. Umstattd (D-Leesburg); School Board Vice Chairwoman Brenda Sheridan (Sterling); and School Board members Beth Huck (At Large), Joy Maloney (Broad Run), Eric Dekenipp (Catoctin), Jeff Morse (Dulles) and Tom Marshall (Leesburg).

Read more details about the meeting’s format here.

Leave a Reply