School Board Approves Exceptions to Attendance Reassignments

Forty-one rising fifth-grade students who were initially slated to change schools this fall will now get to stay put.

After the Loudoun County School Board adopted a new attendance map for eight Leesburg area elementary schools in March, it surveyed all 188 rising fifth-grade students who would be affected by the changes. Forty-one said they’d prefer to finish out their elementary career at their current schools. The board agreed, with a unanimous vote at its meeting Tuesday.

“I don’t see a problem with this. It is consistent with what the board has done,” Chairman Eric Hornberger (Ashburn) said.

The attendance changes go into effect in the 2016-2017 academic year, and reassign 1,105 students. The elementary schools that will be impacted are: Ball’s Bluff, Catoctin, Evergreen Mill, Frances Hazel Reid, Frederick Douglass, John W. Tolbert, Jr., Kenneth W. Culbert and Leesburg.

Leave a Reply