Meyer Appointed to Loudoun’s New NVTC Seat

Supervisor Ron A. Meyer Jr. (R-Broad Run) has been appointed to Loudoun’s newly created second seat on the Northern Virginia Transportation Commission, which oversees the Metropolitan Washington Area Transit Authority.

“NVTC’s primary focus is transit, and soon, the commission will be receiving toll revenue from the forthcoming I-66 tolls,” Meyer said in an emailed statement. “Loudoun makes up around 18 percent of the traffic on I-66 inside the beltway, and it is imperative we fight to receive proportional transportation funding from these tolls.”

Meyer joins the NVTC as Loudoun prepares for Metrorail, which WMATA oversees.

“In my district, Loudoun will be getting access to three Silver Line stations when Phase 2 opens in 2020,” Meyer stated. “My top priority is to make the most out of Loudoun’s investment in Metro; for that investment to pay off, Metro needs vast reforms. NVTC’s oversight should play a major role in advocating for these improvements, and I look forward to joining Supervisor Letourneau in these efforts.”

Supervisor Matthew F. Letourneau (R-Dulles) is Loudoun’s current representative to NVTC.

Loudoun was granted a second seat on NVTC after Del. J. Randall Minchew (R-10)’s House Bill 181 passed and was signed into law earlier this year.

“Loudoun is going to be on the hook for paying 4.8 percent of the management and operational costs of WMATA,” Minchew said at that time. “We on NVTC have to make absolutely certain that WMATA does not have any cost overruns, any bloated budgets, and that the money that they spend is spent wisely.”

Meyer joins 20 current NVTC commissioners, including five from Fairfax County, three from Arlington County, two from the City of Alexandria, and one each from the cities of Falls Church and Fairfax. It also has six members from the General Assembly—including five whose districts include parts of Loudoun County. Minchew serves on the NVTC, joined by Sen. Richard H. Black (R-13), Sen. Jennifer T. Wexton (D-33), Del. Dave A. LaRock (R-33), and Del. James M. LeMunyon (R-67). Minchew, LaRock, LeMunyon, and Wexton also signed on to HB 181 as patrons, joined by Loudoun delegates John J. Bell (D-87), Jennifer B. Boysko (D-86), and Kathleen Murphy (D-34).

Leave a Reply