Economic Development Committee Gets Final Members

Leesburg’s  Economic Development Review Steering Committee announced its final four committee members last week.

At the suggestion of Councilman Ron Campbell, the Town Council created the panel to review the town’s past and current economic development efforts and policies and to craft recommendations for future goals, strategy, and policy that can be integrated into the Town Plan.

During a working session last week, the five previously appointed members selected the remaining four members—two members from the business community and two town residents. Representing the business community are Charlie Keiler, of Kettler, which manages the Village at Leesburg; and King Street Oyster Bar owner Rick Allison. Town resident representatives are Brett Burk, a business owner and former member of the Planning Commission; and EIT President and COO David Faliskie. EIT moved its headquarters into Leesburg last year.

They join Sharon Babbin and Rick Lanham of the Planning Commission; Tosha Woodard of the Economic Development Commission; and Councilmen Marty Martinez and Campbell. The two council members serve as the lone non-voting members of the group.

The full committee will meet for the first time at 7 p.m. Wednesday, June 14, at Town Hall.

Leave a Reply