Leesburg Council, Loudoun Supervisors Plan Joint Meeting

Members of the Leesburg Town Council and Loudoun County Board of Supervisors will hold a joint meeting to discuss a few shared priorities.

The joint meeting is planned for 6 p.m. Monday, Nov. 29, in the Dulles Room of the Loudoun County Government Center. Representing the board will be Chairwoman Phyllis J. Randall (D-At Large), Supervisor Geary M. Higgins (R-Catoctin) and Supervisor Kristen C. Umstattd (D-Leesburg). Council representatives will be Mayor Kelly Burk, Vice Mayor Suzanne Fox and Councilman Marty Martinez. The meeting will be open to the public.

The meeting will focus on five topics of discussion agreed upon by both bodies: county land acquisition inside the town’s corporate limits; public transit; economic development; Rt. 15 north congestion mitigation; and mutual areas of legislative interest pertaining to work by the Virginia Association of Counties and the Virginia Municipal League.

The council voted Tuesday night on its chosen representatives for the meeting. Randall had suggested three from each body for efficiency’s sake — the Town Council has seven members, while the board has nine — but clarified on Tuesday that any member of either body that attends will be recognized and invited to participate, Burk said.

Councilman Ron Campbell raised his concerns with limiting council member participation Monday night and Tuesday night expressed his dismay that the vote on chosen council representatives for the joint meeting was taken while he was outside Council Chambers. Councilman Tom Dunn was successful in finding the votes for a motion to reconsider that vote, but ultimately it found the same result of Burk, Fox and Martinez being selected. Councilman Ken Reid was absent for Tuesday’s meeting.

Leave a Reply