3 Vie for Middleburg’s Mayor Post

For the first time in 26 years, the Town of Middleburg will see a mayoral race with more than one candidate on the ballot.

Councilmen Mark Snyder and Trowbridge Littleton, along with Vincent Bataoel, all submitted paperwork to the county registrar to have their names on the ballot. Mayor Betsy Davis, 65, will not run for a seventh consecutive term. Elections will be held May 1 this year.

Snyder, 63, has been a Town Council member since 1998 and works in the Northrop Grumman Corp.’s information security and identity management access operations department. His campaign is focused on maintaining residents’ water rates and finding a way to run Town Council meetings more efficiently.

“I want to explore how do we improve that with the council,” he said. “That’s really the job of mayor, to run the town council—it is a leadership position.”

Bataoel, 35, is the chairman of the town’s Economic Development Advisory Committee and co-founder of the LEED consulting company Above Green. His campaign is focused on keeping the town from becoming over-commercialized, lowering water rates, eliminating the town’s business license tax and monitoring how taxpayer money is being spent.

“I think we need to be careful where we spend those taxpayer funds,” he said. “I think that the town needs to make some bold moves to improve.”

Mayoral candidates Trowbridge Littleton, Mark Snyder and Vincent Bataoel

Littleton has been on Town Council since 2016 and has a term ending in 2020. He is a 2000 graduate of the University of Richmond School of Law and is the president and co-founder of HELLEN Systems, a privately held company that provides solutions and capital for positioning, navigation and timing technology for systems like GPS.

The last contested mayoral race in the town was in 1992, when Caroline Bowersock was elected over Helen Hyre.

Loudoun County General Registrar Judy Brown said Virginia law now requires names on the ballot to be positioned in the order their paperwork was received—placing Bataoel first, Snyder second, and Littleton third.



Leave a Reply