Ballots Set for May 1 Municipal Elections

The candidates have filled their paperwork and the ballots are set for the May 1 town elections.

Tonight at 7 p.m. was the deadline for mayoral and town council candidates to submit completed paperwork to the county registrar for this spring’s town elections. Nine mayoral and 22 town council candidates will have their names on the ballots in their respective towns—Purcellville, Middleburg, Lovettsville, Hamilton and Round Hill.

In Purcellville, Mayor Kwasi Fraser is hoping to be elected for a third consecutive term as he goes up against town native and 23-year county government employee Chris Thompson. This election season launches amid the town’s four ongoing investigations of top administrators and a search for a permanent town manager.

“I am humbled by the outpouring of support I have received during my two terms as mayor,” Fraser wrote in his re-election announcement. “We still have much to accomplish.”

Competing for three open Town Council spots will be Councilman Ted Greenly, who was appointed to fill a council vacancy earlier this year; Joel Grewe, the director of a Christian leadership program for teens; Tip Stinnette, chairman of the town’s Planning Commission; and Steve Warfield, a marketing manager at Costco. Although Councilman Doug McCollum was initially in the running, he withdrew Monday. Councilwoman Karen Jimmerson will also not seek re-election, as she turns toward her 2019 Board of Supervisors campaign.

The Town of Middleburg will have its first contested mayoral race in 26 years, as six-term Mayor Betsy Davis relinquishes her seat to work full time at her family-owned business, The Fun Shop. Vying for her spot will be Councilmen Bridge Littleton and Mark Snyder, along with Vincent Bataoel, chairman of the town’s Economic Development Advisory Committee.

As the town moves toward renovating portions of its water system and aims to build a new town office, seven candidates will compete for four spots on Town Council—Council Members Darlene Kirk, Peter Leonard-Morgan and Kevin Hazard, along with Cindy Pearson, the town’s former economic development coordinator; Kristin Noggle, the owner of an equine services company; Planning Commissioner “Mimi” Dale Stein; and Chris Bernard, the e-commerce director for West Federal Retail.

The election in Lovettsville will be another heavily contested race, as Councilman Nate Fontaine goes up against Keller Williams Realtor Kris Consaul. The two will battle it out to become mayor in a year that will see the construction of a state-of-the-art Town Square. Three-term Mayor Bob Zoldos will step down to consider opportunities to become a fire chief.

Three current town council members will also vacate their seats. Running to fill their seats will be Planning Commissioner Christopher Hornbaker; Renee Edmonston, a visual fine arts teacher at Loudoun Country Day School; Nick Hayward, a principal systems and solutions architect at TeraLogics; Matthew Schilling, a technical account manager for Sutherland Government Solutions; Will Hyde, an information resources team lead at the Insignia Federal Group; and Meredith Kopp, the manager of a barn and boarding facility in Lincoln. Councilman Mike Dunlap will also be on the ballot for a special election to fill an unexpired term that ends in 2020.

In Hamilton, Mayor David Simpson will seek his first re-election as he leads the town toward multiple utility and sidewalk improvement projects this year. Council Members Craig Green, Rebecca Jones and Michael Snyder, a councilman since the 1980s, will also seek re-elections for their seats on the Town Council.

In Round Hill, Mayor Scott Ramsey will seek re-election for a fifth term. While only Councilman Fred Lyne has stepped forward for re-election on the Town Council. Incumbent council members Janet Heston and Chris Prack may continue their service, but as write-in candidates.

The voter registration deadline is April 9. Town elections will be held Tuesday, May 1, with polls open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply