Seven Apply for Lovettsville Town Council Vacancy

The Lovettsville Town Council could appoint a new town council member next week.

Following the Feb. 17 resignation of Vice Mayor Tiffaney Carder, the Town Council has been considering the applications of seven residents interested in filling her spot. Six of the candidates originally applied in January to fill another vacant spot that was created when Rob Gentile resigned.

The candidates are Nick Frederickson; David Naylor; Richard Efthim, a life coach with inSight Life; Tony Quintana, a business solutions director at Exostar; Renee Edmonston, a visual fine arts teacher at Loudoun Country Day School; Matthew Schilling, a technical account manager for Sutherland government Solutions; and Planning Commissioner Chris Hornbaker. Edmonston, Schilling and Hornbaker are filed to be on the Town Council ballot in the May 1 election.

Mayor Bob Zoldos said the town would work to set up interviews with the seven applicants during closed sessions on March 14-15 before possibly making a selection in an open session on Thursday, March 15 around 9:30 p.m. “We want to get back up to full strength,” he said.

The selected candidate will serve a term that ends on June 30.

After serving for eight years on the Town Council, Carder resigned from her seat three weeks ago to fulfill work requirements as the Lovettsville Library’s assistant librarian.

Under Virginia law, the council has 45 days from the vacancy date to make the appointment—April 3. If it fails to do so, the Circuit Court will step in.

The town also received an application from a resident interested in filling one of two Planning Commission seats that were vacated by the dismissal of Frank McDonough and the resignation of Stephanie Wolf two weeks ago. That candidate is Gregory Ratner.

If Ratner is appointed to the commission, Zoldos said the Town Council would ask the runner up from the Town Council applicant pool to fill the other spot. Otherwise, the top two runners up could be considered. If none of the candidates are interested, the commission can continue to operate with its five current members.


Leave a Reply