County Signs Deal to Collect Town Taxes

Loudoun County Treasurer H. Roger Zurn, the Loudoun County Board of Supervisors, and five Loudoun towns have reached an agreement that will allow the county to centralize taxation for all of those governments in one place—if the state goes along.

Before that can begin, the governor must sign legislation introduced by Dels. Dave A. LaRock (R-33) and Wendy W. Gooditis (D-10) and Sens. Richard H. Black (R-13) and Jennifer T. Wexton (D-33) and passed by the General Assembly.

If it’s enacted into law, Zurn will be allowed to take over billing and collecting taxes for the towns, starting with real estate taxes in 2019 and adding personal property taxes in 2020.

Leesburg, Middleburg, Round Hill, Lovettsville, and Hillsboro have agreed to participate.

Under the agreements with those towns, the county will pay half of the cost of adding them to the treasurer’s tax assessment and billing system, up to $100,000. The towns will divide the other half of the cost, up to $100,000. The county will also keep 1.15 percent of the taxes it collects on behalf of the towns to offset the cost of billing and collecting those taxes.

If the two towns that have opted not to participate—Purcellville and Hamilton—decide to join later, they will pay the full cost of adding them to the county’s tax assessment and billing system plus a 10 percent fee.

The idea, as both county supervisors and Zurn have said, is to both simplify taxation in Loudoun both to create cost efficiency on the government side and simplify tax bills for town residents. Those residents would start getting only one tax bill covering all of their county and town taxes, instead of separate bills from each.

Leave a Reply