Leesburg Voting Precincts Relocated

Some town voters will be moved to a new voting precinct this year, in time for June’s primaries.

Last week, both the Town Council and Board of Supervisors passed changes to their codified ordinances to move three town voting precincts. The Greenway precinct will move from Leesburg Community Church to J.L. Simpson Middle School; the Dry Mill precinct will move from C.S. Monroe Technology Center to Loudoun County High School; and the Brandon Park precinct will move from LCHS to Douglass Community Center.

To make way for the Greenway precinct change, Catoctin District voters who formerly used J.L. Simpson for their polling place will be moved to Sycolin Creek Elementary. The 419 J.L. Simpson precinct will be renamed Sycolin Creek. The Election Office will use Sycolin Creek and the Dulles Greenway as the new boundaries between the Sycolin Creek precinct and Precinct 408 Evergreen. This will allow the Election Office to reassign approximately 670 voters to Precinct 408 Evergreen.

General Registrar Judy Brown said she will be mailing cards to all voters affected by the polling place changes. The Town Council voted 6-1, with Councilman Tom Dunn dissenting, to relocate the polling places at its April 10 meeting. Supervisors were unanimous in support of the changes at their at their meeting the following night.

Leave a Reply