Loudoun Board Considers Naming New School Waxpool Elementary

The parents, teachers and students charged with recommending a name for the county’s newest elementary school have whittled down their choices to three.

The Loudoun County School Board received a report from the ES-31 naming committee Tuesday. ES-31, the school’s temporary name, is being built on the east side of Belmont Ridge Road, north of Waxpool Road and south of Truro Parish Drive. It’s scheduled to open in the fall of 2019.

The committee’s first choice is to name the school Waxpool Elementary School, after the village of Waxpool that bustled in the area starting in the 1800s. The village was made up of a general store called S.E. Munday’s General Store, as well as a post office, church, school and several dairy farms.

“The name helps preserve the historical legacy of the area, named for the waxy hard-to-drain clay soils in the area,” the committee stated.

The committee’s second choice is Lola Jackson Elementary School, an educator who died in 2001 at the age of 99. She taught at the Farmwell Colored School, later known as the Ashburn Colored School, from 1932 to 1957.

The committee’s third choice is William H. Ash Elementary School, after a former slave who became the first African-American from Loudoun elected to the House of Delegates. Before his death in 1908, Ash worked as a teacher and helped found the Teachers Reading Circle, an organization for black educators.

Two speakers at Tuesday’s School Board meeting, Tejas Mehta and Jim Kotwis, asked the board to name the school after U.S. Army Cpt. James F. Adamouski, the first Virginian to die in battle in Iraq in 2003. Adamouski attended high school in Springfield and went on to be a star soccer player at West Point.

“We would be honored if the board would consider naming ES-31 and be the first school in this country to carry his name,” said Mehta, Adamouski’s sister.

School Board member Eric Dekenipp (Catoctin) told Mehta and Kotwis that he would make the motion to name the school after Adamouski, but recognized it would likely not pass. “With that said, I’ve never seen that done,” he said. Adamouski was not a Loudoun resident.

Kevin Lewis, assistant superintendent of Support Services who oversees the school naming process, said James F. Adamouski was one of the names the committee considered but did not ultimately recommend.

Other names suggested to the naming committee were former Secretary of State and Leesburg resident Gen. George C. Marshall, Confederate Gen. Robert E. Lee and President Donald J. Trump.

“For one of the best presidents in modern times,” the nominator of the latter wrote.

The School Board will vote on a final name at its June 12 meeting.


Leave a Reply