Loudoun Laurels Foundation Names 2018 Laureates: Karen G. and Fredrick D. Schaufeld and Alfred P. Van Huyck

The Loudoun Laurels Foundation has selected its 2018 laureates. The honorees are business entrepreneurs and philanthropists Karen G. and Fredrick D. Schaufeld, and longtime civic activist Alfred P. Van Huyck.

This year’s honorees were selected from among a list of more than 50 community contributors nominated by the public.

Fredrick D. Schaufeld

Fredrick D. Schaufeld started NEW Customer Service Companies in 1983 and grew it into the nation’s leading provider of consumer product protection plans and product support services. He co-founded SWaN & Legend, a venture capital company, in 2006, and is a partner in the Washington Capitals, Wizards, Nationals, Mystics and Valor, as well as four other sports franchises and the Capital One Arena.

Karen G. Schaufeld is the founder of 100WomenStrong, a philanthropy group that invests strategically in community support organizations in the areas of

Karen Schaufeld

health, shelter, hunger and education, and is co-founder of All Ages Read Together. She also has been a state-wide leader in promoting the expansion of solar power in Virginia. Contributions from the Schaufelds helped to fund the Schaufeld Family Heart Center of the InovaLoudoun Hospital. They

also are members of Venture Philanthropy Partners, which aids low-income families in the region. They are the second husband-wife duo to be selected as Loudoun Laurels.

Alfred P. Van Huyck spent 40 years working nationally and internationally as an urban planner. For the past quarter century, he has devoted his efforts to promote conservation and historic preservation in fast-growing Loudoun County, his home since the 1960s. He served as chairman on the county Planning Commission from 1996 to 2003 and guided the

Alfred P. Van Huyck

development of the Revised General Plan. He is chairman of the Loudoun County Preservation and Conservation Coalition and founder of the Friends of the Blue Ridge. Most recently he served on the Envision Loudoun Stakeholders Committee. He also has been recognized as the Loudoun Preservation Society’s Preservationist of the Year and the Mosby Heritage Area Association’s Heritage Hero.

In addition to honoring exceptional community service for the benefit of Loudoun County residents, the Loudoun Laurels Foundation is committed to  developing future civic leaders through scholarships and mentorships.

Earlier this year, the Loudoun Laurels Stewardship Trust awarded four scholarships to Loudoun County Public School students. Two of the scholarship recipients participated in LCPS’ College Achievement Minority Program for Unique Students (CAMPUS) and two participated in the national Advancement Via Individual Determination (AVID) program before graduating in June 2018. The scholarships are in the amount of $40,000, dispersed in $10,000 annual increments during the students’ four-year undergraduate studies. The 2018 scholarship recipients were Sulma Hernandez of Loudoun Valley High School attending Northern Virginia Community College;Ashley Cardenas-Alviar of Loudoun County High School attending Virginia Commonwealth University;Jayla Grooms of Heritage High School attending Virginia State University; and John Aguilar of Tuscarora High School attending Northern Virginia Community College.Since 2013, the Loudoun Laurels program has awarded 17 such scholarships.

Each year, Loudoun Laurels hosts a gala to honor it Laureates and the scholarship recipients. The gala will be held on Sept. 28 at 6:30 p.m. at Belmont Country Club this year. For more information on the gala, prior Laureate honorees and the Loudoun Laurels Stewardship Trust scholars, go to loudounlaurels.org.

Prior Loudoun Laurels honorees are Childs F. Burden, G. Kimball Hart, Eugene M. Scheel, Karen Hatcher Russell, Paul Ziluca, Joe T. May, Lang and Judy Washburn, James P. Roberts, Robert E. Sevila, Stanley Caulkins, Fred Drummond, Edgar B. Hatrick, Su Webb, Joe Boling, Dr. John H Cook III, Cate Magennis Wyatt, J. Hamilton Lambert, Margaret Morton, Judge Thomas D. Horne, Betsy Davis, and Bill Harrison.

For more information, go to loudounlaurels.org or email info@loudounlaurels.org.

Leave a Reply