Minshall Resigns from Round Hill Council, Town Seeks Candidates

Michael Minshall has resigned from the Town Council to prepare for a move to Branson, MO, after serving a little more than two years in the role. The town is soliciting candidates to fill the vacant seat, which has a term that expires on June 30, 2020.

According to Round Hill’s Town Charter, the council has 60 days from the date of vacancy to make an appointment. Although Minshall resigned on Sept. 7, creating a Nov. 6 deadline, the Town Council will extend that deadline to its regular meeting on Nov. 15 so that residents have a full month to apply, since the vacancy was not posted to the town website until last week.

The appointed interim council member will serve until Nov. 5, 2019, at which point the town will hold a special election to fill the seat until the May 5, 2020 municipal elections.

Candidates must live within the town and are asked to submit an application, a letter of interest and resume to Town Administrator Melissa Hynes at mhynes@roundhillva.org and to the Town Council at council@roundhillva.org by 3 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 13.

It’s been a period of heavy turnover for Loudoun’s towns. Purcellville and Lovettsville have seen a total of six council members resign within the past year.

In Purcellville, Kelli Grim resigned in October 2017 just a year-and-a-half after her election to prepare for a family move to Pennsylvania, and Karen Jimmerson resigned in April after nearly four years on the dais to prepare for a move to Aldie and with the stated intent to campaign for the Blue Ridge District seat in the 2019 Board of Supervisors election.

In Lovettsville, Rob Gentile resigned in December after nearly two years of service in preparation for a move out of town, followed by Tiffany Carder who stepped down as vice mayor after eight years on the dais to fulfill her work requirements as the assistant librarian of the Lovettsville Library. Just last month, Mike Senate resigned for personal reasons after nearly two years and Renee Edmonston resigned just 67 days after taking her seat.


Leave a Reply