Hillsboro: Write-in Government

Hillsboro residents will elect five Town Council members and a mayor on Tuesday—all through write-in balloting.

Seven-term Mayor Roger Vance said that he has suggested to the town’s 77 voters that they write in the existing Town Council members, since the next two years will require “a lot of work” from them as the town moves forward with its traffic calming and pedestrian safety project.

Vance, who has been on the council for 22 years, said that each of the council members have indicated a desire to continue serving on the dais. “It’s a really strong group and they do all have an understanding of what’s ahead,” he said.

Vice Mayor Amy Marasco has been on the council since 2008, while Councilmembers Bill Johnston and Claudia Forbes are serving their first terms. Interim Councilman Stephen Moskal was appointed in February to fill a vacancy left by Belle Ware, who resigned after eight years. Interim Councilwoman Laney Oxman was appointed in May to fill a vacancy left by John Dean, who served 10 years on the council.

The elected Town Council will serve until Dec. 31, 2020. Voting will be held at the Old Stone School at 37098 Charles Town Pike from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

First-time voters will be given the chance to ring the school’s bell and have their photo taken with Vance. Voters at the polls may also buy baked goods to support the town’s purchase of new American flags.

Leave a Reply