Patrick Henry Wins 12th Moot Court Championship

Patrick Henry College in Purcellville has won its 12th national moot court championship. In addition to winning first place at the American Moot Court Association national tournament in Orlando on Jan. 20, the college finished with three teams among the top eight in the nation. PHC speakers also won five of the top 20 speaker awards.

Mike Patton, of Kansas City, MO, and Keely Wright, of Louisville, KY, won the championship. Other notable Patrick Henry team placements include: Thomas Doan/Benjamin Phibbs (semi-finalists), and Marina Barnes/Kyle Ziemnick (quarter-finalists). Senior Clare Downing ranked third in individual speaker awards, Michael Patton ranked ninth, Keely Wright ranked 12th, Micah Bock ranked 14th, and Samuel Bock, 22nd.

Moot court is a competitive forensics event where participants provide oral arguments in an environment similar to the U.S. Supreme Court. Justices frequently interrupt the presenters to challenge assertions and to test the presenter’s knowledge of relevant case law. The 2018-19 season featured over 400 teams from colleges across the nation competing in 13 national qualifying tournaments. Patrick Henry is the only college to have won the championship more than once.

One thought on “Patrick Henry Wins 12th Moot Court Championship

  • 2019-01-30 at 4:31 pm

    “Patrick Henry is the only college to have won the championship more than once.” And, they have won it an amazing 12 times. Congratulations!

Leave a Reply