Ballot Set: Primaries Settle 6 Races; 70 Candidates in Running for November

Democrats and Republicans across Loudoun were called to the polls Tuesday to finish setting the ballot for November’s local and state races.

Democrats had the most contested races.

Countywide, political newcomer Justin P. Hannah defeated law enforcement veteran Chris R. Harmison to win the nomination for county sheriff. After winning the primary by about 1,200 votes (51 percent), Hannah, 28, of Aldie, will take on two-term Republican Mike Chapman in November.

He credited his win to an experienced campaign staff, volunteers, strong support from his family—and a desire for a new face.

“The voters, they want real change,” Hannah said. “They’ve seen a lot of things that haven’t gotten done, they want things to be done. They want someone from the outside to say, ‘OK, I’ve seen these problems. Let’s fix it.’”

The Democrats’ most crowded race was for the 87thHouse District that is being vacated by John Bell, who is running for the 13thSenate District. Suhas Subramanyam, 32, of Sterling, outpaced three other candidates to win the nomination. Subramanyam  received about 2,500 votes (45.25 percent). Hassan M. Ahmad was second with 24 percent of the votes. Subramanyam will face Republican William M. Drennan Jr. in November.

In other Democratic races for the state house, incumbent delegates Jennifer Boysko (33) and Barbara Favola (31) handily turned back primary challengers. Boysko will face Leesburg Town Council member Suzanne Fox (R) in November. The is no other candidate in Favola’s district. She is one of four House Democrats from Loudoun’s delegation who are running unopposed, along with David A. Reid (32), Karrie K. Delaney (67) and Ibraheem S. Samirah (86).

In the Sterling District, incumbent supervisor Koran Saines defeated Ibrahim A. Moiz by 99 votes to win the nomination in the closest race of the day. He’ll face independent W. Damien P. Katsirsubus in his bid for a second term.

He put his victory down to results in Sterling during his term, such as funding for pedestrian improvements, a new pool in Sterling Park, new rules on parking commercial vehicles, and other, sometimes small projects.

“We have seen a difference in the services that we’re getting, so it’s those little things that we’ve been doing and that we will continue to do that brought this home for us,” Saines said.

Now, he said, he will team up with the rest of the Democratic slate for November, and get back to work on the Board of Supervisors.

“Even though we’ve done some good, we have a long way to go, and we’re not done yet,” Saines said. “So we’re going to work even twice as hard to make sure that we accomplish some good things.”

Moiz said his campaign was able to pull close to the incumbent supervisor because of a strong ground game, and that he would support Saines’ work.

“I think we both know that I’m going to be around to help him put that focus back on Sterling, and to help Loudoun plan something as the growth occurs,” Moiz said.

On the Republican side, Supervisor Geary Higgins outpaced Supervisor Ron A. Meyer to win the nomination in the 13thSenate District, where incumbent Republican Richard H. Black is retiring. Higgins will face Bell in November.

The decision by Higgins and Meyer to run for the General Assembly means there will be at least three new faces on the Board of Supervisors next year. Vice Chairman Ralph Buona (R-Ashburn) is not seeking election to a third term. Of the six incumbents seeking reelection, only Kristen Umstattd (D-Leesburg) is running unopposed.

In all, Loudoun voters will be getting to know 70 candidates before returning to the polls Nov. 5. On the ballot will be nine Board of Supervisors seats; four constitutional officers, nine School Board seats; 11 General Assembly seats, and Soil and Water Conservation District board.

Supervisor Koran T. Saine (D-Sterling) fields phone calls and hands out campaign literature outside Rolling Ridge Elementary School June 11. He narrowly fended off a primary challenge from Ibrahim Moiz. [Renss Greene/Loudoun Now]

On The Ballot

* incumbent

Board of Supervisors

Chairman At Large 

Robert J. Ohneiser (I)

Phyllis Randall (D)*

John C. L. Whitbeck, Jr. (R)

Algonkian District 

Juli Briskman (D)

Suzanne Volpe (R)*

Ashburn District

Rich W. McMunn (R)

Mike Turner (D)

Blue Ridge 

Tony R. Buffington, Jr. (R)*

Tia Walbridge (D)

Broad Run

Jim G. Bonfils (R)

Sylvia Glass (D)


James Forest Hayes (D)

Caleb A. Kershner (R)

Samuel Kroiz (I)


Matthew F. Letourneau (R)*

Sreedhar Nagireddi (D)


Kristen C. Umstattd (D)*


Damien P. Katsirubas (I)

Koran T. Saines (D)*

Constitutional Offices

Commissioner of the Revenue

Sridhar Amudhanar (D)

Robert S. “Bob” Wertz, Jr. (R)*

Commonwealth’s Attorney 

Buta Biberaj (D)

Nicole Wittmann (R)

County Sheriff

Michael L. “Mike” Chapman (R)*

Justin Hannah (D)

County Treasurer

Kannan Srinivasan (D)

Roger Zurn, Jr. (R)*

School Board

At Large

Denise R. Corbo

Kenya A. Savage

Julia L. “Julie” Sisson

Algonkian District

Atoosa Reaser

Melanie F. Turner

Ashburn District  

Eric D. Hornberger*

Harris Mahedavi

Blue Ridge District

Ian Serotkin

Ramachandran Venkatachalam

Broad Run District 

Andrew T. Hoyler

Lelee M. King

Catoctin District

Jenna M. Alexander

John P. Beatty

Zerell S. Johnson-Welch

Dulles District

Jeff E. Morse*

Leesburg District

Beth R. Barts

Joseph J. Newcomer

Sterling District

Michael J. “Mike” Neely

Brenda Sheridan

Soil and Water Conservation District Board

John Flannery *

George Melik-Agamirian

Marina R. Schumacher*

Jasvinder “Jimmy” Singh

Michelle C. Thomas

James K. Wylie*

General Assembly

10thHouse District

Wendy Gooditis (D)*

Randall “Randy” Minchew (R)

32nd House District 

David A. Reid (D)*

33rdHouse District

Dave A. LaRock (R)*

Mavis B. Taintor (D)

34thHouse District

Kathleen J. Murphy (D)*

Gary G. Pan (R)

67thHouse District

Karrie K. Delaney (D)

86th House District

Ibraheem S. Samirah (D)*

87thHouse District

Suhas Subramanyan (D)

William M. Drennan, Jr. (R)

13thSenate District

Geary M. Higgins (R)

John J. Bell (D)

27th Senate District

Ronald J. Ross, III (D)

Jill Vogel (R)*

31stSenate District

Barbara Favola (D)*

33rdSenate District

Jennifer Boysko (D)*

Suzanne Fox (R)