Lyne Resigns from Round Hill Council

Lyne announced his resignation this month upon moving out of town, only a year into his second term on the council.

He was first elected in 2014 and re-elected on May 1, 2018, with a term set to expire in June 2022. The town is seeking applicants to fill that vacancy on an interim basis until a special election is held on May 1 to determine who will fill the seat for the remaining two years.

According to the Town Charter, the council has 60 days from the date of the vacancy to make an appointment—creating a Septemberdeadline.

Under the Town Charter, applicants are required to have lived in town for a minimum of six months. They should submit a letter of interest to Town Administrator Melissa Hynes at and Mayor Scott Ramsey at or to the town office at 23 Main Street, P.O. Box 36, Round Hill, VA 20142 by Aug. 31.

For more information, call the town office at 540-338-7878.

This is the second time in the past year that a council member has resigned. In 2018, Michael Minshall resigned to prepare for a move to Missouri. In his place, the Town Council appointed Melissa Hoffmann to serve a term ending Nov. 5 this year. At that time, the town will hold a special election to fill the seat for the remainder of the term, which expires in June 2020.

Leave a Reply